Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

Best Day Ever!

Picture 054I know that the term Best Day Ever! is used A LOT, but I never get tired of hearing it from the kids. Many of you know of our quest to visit as many parks as we can this summer (saving ME tons in entertainment expenses). We are also planning on dragging in as many friends as possible. Yesterday my friend Dawn and I (of Climb On post fame) said we’d hang out with the kids with some vague later in the day time frame. We have some weird psychic connection because at the same moment I called her on the phone  saying it’s time to go, her daughter was knocking on my door saying we’ll leave in 15 min. (This stuff happens all the time.) I wanted to show her kids Mt. Greenwood Park. The water feature was on and all the kids had a great time. We stayed for a few hours then the inevitable happens…the Kids were starving. We stopped and ate and found that neither the 5 kids or the two parents were tired so we just keep on going. We took my kids to their first ever trip to Toys R Us. (went way better than I expected) Then we decided to just drive around and look for cool parks to explore.  We headed to Oak Lawn and saw most of the painted chairs on display down the main drag 95th Street and even stopped and posed for pics. Though we did find one park done totally in pinks and purples near the police station (NONE of the boys wanted to stop). We stumbled upon and chose  a really, really cool park with this gigantic 20ft high spider web thingie that they could climb on.  We stayed long enough to get hungry again! Went to Burger King with a what else Playland and went back to the park and stayed til WELL after dark.  All the kids got along, I wasn’t home cleaning house, hung out with a best gal pal all day. Even as grown ups we said…

It REALLY was the Best Day Ever!

Picture 058Picture 010

June 15, 2009 - Posted by | Kid-ertainment, What I did on my summer vacation

10 Comments »

  1. Paula, I’m so glad you had a great day. My kids are spread so far apart in ages it seems that the days of doing everything together are sadly a thing of the past. With six years between all three, two girls and one boy, it’s just easier to do things with the kids individually. That’s why I’m looking forward to this vacation so much. We are finally doing a vacation of my dreams. Kentucky for the Mammoth Caves, Tennessee for Lookout Mountain and the Smokies, then onto Virginia and Washington, DC. Gonna try to fit in as much as humanly possible in 9 days! Anywhoooo, love you. Keep posting!!!

    Comment by MiMi Barthel Deuser | June 15, 2009

  2. How are you going to fit it all in! If anyone can it will be you! Have a great time and wave to all my relatives as you drive past!
    I know what you mean about the kids too. You don’t see Gavin or the others in most of these posts do you? LOL We have to get the boys together with Van this summer!

    Comment by paulascott60482 | June 15, 2009

  3. Those giant chairs are just the coolest thing ever!

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | June 16, 2009

  4. Sounds like an awesome day! Love the parks with the water features. All the fun of swimming without the risk of drowning.

    Comment by Amy | June 16, 2009

  5. I loved the giant chairs too. My friend and I debated her buying one for her living room. Wouldn’t that be a riot?
    About the water feature. It was in full view of the public pool. Guess where the kids wanted to go. LOL. Maybe next time.

    Comment by Paula | June 16, 2009

  6. What a great place! My boys would LOVE the spider web thingy. I can’t believe how much you have already fit in.

    Comment by Cyndi | June 16, 2009

  7. Cyndi, maybe we’ll have to explore parks further south so you could come too!

    Comment by Paula | June 17, 2009

  8. Sounds like you all had a great time! Those chairs are awesome! What else are your plans for the summer? One of the good things here is that school goes to the end of June, so we only have 2 months to try to keep the kids occupied.

    Comment by Wendy | June 17, 2009

  9. Well, besides parks we will definitely hit Kiddie Land as this it’s sadly it’s last year ever. We’re keeping our options open and seeing which direction the vehicle takes us. Don’t worry when you come in Aug. I’ll get a babysitter. LOL

    Comment by Paula | June 17, 2009

  10. What a great day! You must have been exhausted at the end of it but it sounds like it was wonderful! When I saw those giant chair in Oak Lawn I was wondering if people would climb up on them and take pictures…! 🙂
    I mean, how could you possibly pass up an opportunity like that?!

    Comment by Becky | June 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

