Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

Exploration/Exasperation

memorial day weekend 095Many of you know by now that Ian has special needs. He is in a special needs classroom for most of the day at school only going into his brothers classroom (also first grade) for a few hours each day. Well, the last field trip of the year was planned and I was told that I was requested (insert required here) to come along. In the past Ian has been paired alone or in a very small group with a teacher but that didn’t work out so well. Ian thinks the world should accommodate him, not the other way around. I was told the teacher almost lost him at the Brookfield Zoo several times and came home feeling a nervous breakdown coming on. Ian doesn’t ask permission to walk away. He just goes because, with Ian, every decision is a power struggle to see who can outlast whom. (Ian usually wins) Ian is so strong willed in fact that not only was I required to come along but I needed to drive my own vehicle in case he became a behavior problem on the bus. Since it was a first grade field trip Caleb was also going. For this reason my mother was also “volunteered”.  We went to the Exploration Station-A Children’s Museum in Bourbonnais, IL. We have actually visited here before as a family and we had made the suggestion for this field trip. Ian and a friend got double teamed by his Teacher and myself.  (We split up when I went Ian chasing) We had a great time, I only lost him a few times, and only for a minute at a time…(I blame it on the identical shirts they had to wear. A sea of tiny teal shirts…yikes) If you get a chance to go here, do it while your kids are small. There is a farm with animals you can feed, a park and all of the indoor exhibits including a GIANT castle with dungeons and turrets, stores, a mock ice cream shop, costumes,  the inside of an airplane complete with seats. So much I can’t begin to name. (Well, obviously I’ve begun to name, but you know what I mean) We had a great time. It’s very affordable and you can stay as long as you’d like. We were able to visit all of the exhibits with time to spare for the park, Ian wasn’t awful terrible half-bad. He could have ridden home on the bus…but hey, I wanted the company.

memorial day weekend 102memorial day weekend 107memorial day weekend 108memorial day weekend 105memorial day weekend 089memorial day weekend 098

June 9, 2009 - Posted by | Field Trips, Kid-ertainment, What I did on my summer vacation

9 Comments »

  1. I loved taking the kids there, Paula. We haven’t been there in a few years. I am glad Ian had a great time!

    Comment by Sue Pujdak | June 10, 2009

  2. what great pictures! Seems like a good place to have visited at this age 😦 when did my kids get too big for stuff like this…love how you hyperlinked (? I’m so not with the techinical terminology!) the zoo and the museum – I keep saying it – you are a full service resource queen!

    Comment by Becky | June 10, 2009

  3. We’ve been out that way for kids’ football games many times but never heard of this place. It sounds great! My boys are 8 & 10 – too babyish for them, you think? It sounds like they’d still like it but it’s a long drive out into the middle of nowhere if they’re just going to be bored. I’m glad you didn’t lose Ian, or anyone else, for more than a minute. 🙂

    Comment by Cyndi | June 10, 2009

  4. We received the same invitation to Robbie’s last field trip as well…

    Comment by aholicswife | June 10, 2009

  5. between 8 and 10 is a hard age. They think they are so mature at that age. If it’s too long of a drive I think I’d skip it. Stop in if you’re in the area though.

    Comment by paulascott60482 | June 10, 2009

  6. Sorry to hear there are other moms out there getting an “invitation” the way I did. But…also, nice to know I’m not alone. Did you go to the field trip with Robbie?

    Comment by paulascott60482 | June 10, 2009

  7. That looks like a great place for a field trip. My husband was “recruited” to go on Oldest Son’s field trip to Williamsburg back in 5th grade. He kept one of the boys from wandering off again by threatening to make him hold his hand. You can imagine how terrifying this would be to a 5th grade boy–and it worked!

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | June 14, 2009

  8. Too Funny! I’ll have to remember that when they get a little older. Right now they’re still at the hang on Momma stage. sigh….

    Comment by Paula | June 14, 2009

  9. emm… funny ))

    Comment by Paulina Rubio Desnuda | July 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

