Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

“It’s All Fun And Games Til Someone Loses An Eye”

I wonder if whomever came up with that phrase knew how prophetic they were or how quickly that phrase would become part of our culture. I must say truer words were never spoken. I take my 3 little kids with me almost everywhere I go. (Not by choice.) When they are exceptionally good they will often times get a reward. (I can afford this because face it they are NEVER, hardly EVER, only sometimes good) Well, I had them at the Walgreen’s Pharmacy the other day and decided to wait for a prescription. Wandering the isles..Heading straight for the toy isle the kids started picking up toys that cost $10.00 or more. Well, no one is that good! I told them to pare it down a bit. Once again I lost my mommy mind while trying to be economical and let two of them get cap guns with extra bullets (of course) and one of them a pair of metal hand cuffs, pronounced in this house as hand-cups (how cute is that?). I told them to wait til we got home to open them. It took roughly 20 seconds in the car before I heard the first shot and it was LOUD! in about 15 more seconds it sounded like the civil war and smelled a bit like it too with the sulfur/smoke smell filling the car and assaulting my eyes.  I’m not one to pull over so I start yelling to pass them up. Yea, that went over well. It was just about then I was shot in the ear. (did you know that there are tiny rock like pellets that shoot sometimes?) I finally got them passed to the front and locked in the glove box when I hear a familiar wail…Caleb is bleeding! It seems the hand-cups were being swung in a circle and they bopped him right between the eyes….Lord, take me now!

memorial day weekend 063

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | General Mayhem, Toy's and Games | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hahaha. You deserve a halo. But they’re soooo cute!!
    And the title made me think of The Christmas Story–“You’ll shoot your eye out” LOL

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | May 28, 2009

  2. OMG – that is the funniest story ever…because it didn’t happen to me! 🙂

    Comment by Cyndi | May 28, 2009

  3. are you sure we aren’t living the same life?

    Comment by Consuella Banana Hammock | May 29, 2009

  4. LOL No halo mamma! It might scratch my horns. Cyndi, you wait…you laugh at me and it could happen to you too…(I could slip some firecrackers in the mail)and Consuella, my sympathy’s are with you if this is your life! Yikes.

    Comment by Paula | May 29, 2009


Leave a Reply

