Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

An “Out of Mommy” Experience/ Girls Night Out

girlfriendsI attended religious high school.  I was popular and was truly blessed to have  always had a close knit group of “true” friends. After school I got married, divorced, married, divorced….etc, etc.. started having more children and close friends (all friends) fell along the wayside. I didn’t really notice it until it had slipped completely away and I found myself alone and very busy raising 4 boys on my own.

Well, within the last 2 years I have reconnected with so many people from my past via face-book. (I know, I know) Some, were friends some were acquaintances, ages roughly spanning 10 years.  An old friend opened up her home to everyone that could make it for a mini reunion and it was amazing. It was like time had stopped and we were all 18 again. Since that night we’ve had several more get-togethers and have started a “Girls Night Out” once a month. We meet in a central location many traveling at least an hour to attend. Every month its like pot luck to see who can make it. The dynamics of the event always change with venue and attendees. One month it’s hot tub and hor’dourves at a friends, dinner and a movie, bar and karaoke or just dinner. The event is limited only by imagination of the online thread.

The thing is…We come from all different walks now. If we were to meet on the street you could never put us together. Those of us with kids see ages span from adult to babies. There are stay at home moms, career women, preacher’s wives, lesbians, multiple divorcees, princess, bartenders, Trekkies, vixens and the not so vixens. (just to name a few) Some who’s lives still revolve around the church and those who haven’t been inside one in decades. But, the thing is, The dynamic of the group works. We click, we blend, we KNOW who we are and the value that each of us bring to the table. We laugh, we share, we make our lives better by shared experiences.

I’m sure we make a spectacle of ourselves in restaurants with all of the laughing and multiple conversations going on at once but its amazing. I feel like I’m whole again when I have an “out of mommy experience”. If I had but one wish right now I’d wish that each of you had good friends to hang with. OH RIGHT, if I had one wish it would be for millions of tax free dollars, but after that…I’d wish you had great friends…well at least you know you have me! You are welcome to pull up a chair at my table anytime. XO

Women are in league with each other, a secret conspiracy of hearts and pheromones.  ~Camille Paglia

May 13, 2009 - Posted by | Friends

8 Comments »

  1. Paula,

    This is beautiful. Honestly, I cannot wrap my head around the way we can click like that either. Technically, we are all so different in so many ways – but I guess it’s the shared experience we had as kids, one which was so vivid, so mind-blowing, it has knit us together no matter what. I’m well aware not all those from our past would feel the connection, but we’ve learned what to look for and how to respond. If we can share one another with open hearts and without judgment, it’s amazing what we can find in one another. Thanks for taking the time to convince me to take the chance.

    Comment by Eileen | May 13, 2009

  2. What a great post! I love my girlfriends and we always make a spectacle of ourselves in public too! 🙂

    Comment by Cyndi | May 13, 2009

  3. Paula,
    You said it all; I certainly couldn’t have said it better. I know we weren’t close in high school, but I’m glad the facebook put us in touch and that I can call you my friend. Eileen, thanks for cajoling me out to dinner. We’ll do it again.

    Comment by Ragna | May 13, 2009

  4. Facebook is a great invention. I’m so glad you convinced me to sign up, Paula. I’ve been able to reconnect with some old friends I thought I’d never be able to find.

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | May 14, 2009

  5. I wish I only lived an hour away! It would be great to join you all for a girls night out! Remember, I will be there in August.

    Comment by Wendy | May 16, 2009

  6. I never trust women who say their husband is their best friend. There is something special about the relationship between women friends. I’m truly blessed by the women who fill that role in my life.

    Comment by Amy | May 16, 2009

  7. See, this is why I love all you guys! Looking forward to the next night out!

    Comment by paulascott60482 | May 16, 2009

  8. Princesses? There are princesses in the group? Wow, I didn’t know that! 🙂 Great great blog Paula – makes me even more unhappy I haven’t been able to join you but I know I’ll be at the 25 year reunion and from there I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed!!

    Comment by Becky | May 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

