Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

Chores? I don’t think so.

luncheon_plates_stacks_dscn4744I think that no matter how young, there are still age appropriate chores around the house that every child can do. Let’s be honest here, it’s one of the few benefits of actually HAVING children. Hayden (9) has been helping take out the trash and helping to tote laundry for a while now, Ian (6) will often sometimes when he feels like it, clean portions of his room. But Caleb (7) will die before he lifts a finger voluntarily. He must be bribed, threatened or cajoled to step into service. He will lay on the floor and moan if you ask him to put his own dish in the sink. Well, for some reason doing dishes has seemed appealing to my little ones. Maybe its the bubbles in the water and sloshing around looking forbidden steak knives and glass glasses while standing on a step stool.  (Ack! I sooo don’t let them do those. What were you thinking!) I’ve been supervising this activity for a while and thought I could trust them to do a good job on their own while trying to stem the tide of destruction left by them in another room. WRONG! I came back when they were almost done putting  away about 10 dinner plates. I looked in the cabinet because there was water dripping from it…a good amount of water. They had washed and dried each one…as a team…the tops only. There was food, soap and water on each one. When I asked them what the $*%& Heck they thought they were doing? I said You have to wash and wipe each side, then dry both sides too….my 3′ Caleb looked straight up at his 6′ momma and said…

“Mom…That’s so DUMB! you only EAT off the TOPS! DUH!”

Well, rocket scientists are WAY over rated right? It’s just one more thing I’ll have to do myself. Come to think of it, Caleb is really very smart, he may have just played me….hmmmm…….

May 2, 2009 - Posted by | General Mayhem

7 Comments »

  1. LOL! Seems logical, huh? Too funny!

    Comment by Amy | May 2, 2009

  2. Ugh. Why is it they always want to do the jobs they can’t do, and then when they’re old enough to do them, decide they don’t want to do them anymore?

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | May 2, 2009

  3. you totally made me laugh this morning! i keep wondering if my youngest will ever be as helpful as his big brother. he always seems to “be too tired” or have a tummy ache when it comes time to clean up. we need a manuel on how to make good servants and maids out of our children. that’s what we had them for right? 😉

    Comment by Consuella Banana Hammock | May 3, 2009

  4. My mom said that as a child I would sneak off to the bathroom as soon as the water started to fill in the sink, and stay there as long as possible. I actually had a book hidden between the towels…so, maybe hating chores is a hereditary thing. LOL

    I wish I could still hide from chores!

    Comment by paulascott60482 | May 3, 2009

  5. Wow, you have been busy here. New theme and everything. I like it and am happy you’re blogging again!

    LOL – this cracks me up. You can’t argue with that logic. Too bad it never changes, grown men seem to screw up the most basic of chores so that we don’t ever ask them to do it again.

    Comment by Cyndi | May 4, 2009

  6. I know..that’s what makes me wonder if it’s some evil genius plot.

    Comment by paulascott60482 | May 4, 2009

  7. Hi, cool post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for writing. I’ll definitely be coming back to your site. Keep up the good work

    Comment by How I Shed Thirty Póunds in Only a Month | May 5, 2009


Leave a Reply

