Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

Dollar Store Magic

I try to get my kids little surprises whenever I can. It’s so easy just to pick up some simple little something that you know will make them smile.  I happened into the Dollar Tree (everything sells for one dollar), a virtual treasure trove of odds and ends that you never knew you needed for $1. Nine times out of ten I will leave the store only loaded down with armloads of batteries and that sour spray candy. Well, while wandering the isles (you have to look down everyone) I found some Magic Sets…not just any Magic Sets mind you but 15 in each box for $1.00 Magic Sets! And…as fate would have it…Three different kinds. It was like a light from Heaven. I was excited to bring this home to the boys (along with the candy and batteries for backup in case the magic tanked). I took each boy one by one and tried to figure out tricks with them. The thing is…Directions for all 15 tricks were written on a 6 inch square of paper in a font that was so small I would need a Lilliputian to read for me…I struggled through 3 tricks for Hayden, 2 for Ian and only 1 for Caleb before my patience and eyes gave out on me. Some were really hard…but, the ones they got…they mastered. I made them promise not to reveal the secrets to the others. Caleb even gave a performance at school today with his one trick. So cute! I’m taking them to a Magic Show at the library this weekend. I can’t wait for them to raise their hands high, waving frantically for attention, only to yell I KNOW HOW YOU DID THAT!!!!

magic

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | Toy's and Games

3 Comments »

  1. Hurray notification of your posts now comes up on my FB newsfeed! I’m so glad!
    “a font that was so small I would need a Lilliputian to read for me” – what a fantastic, make you lol, phrase! I’ve seen those cards, I’m impressed you got through as many as you did. 🙂 Sounds like one of those “World’s Greatest Mom” moments – good for you and the boys!

    Comment by Becky | February 26, 2009

  2. Thank goodness my sons don’t read your blog or they’d insist on hitting the dollar store immediately. My oldest is especially obsessed with magic right now. I think it’s in their DNA. LOL – I hate those mini-directions, just like the ones that come with the fast-food kids’ meals crappy toys.

    Comment by So Much More Than A Mom | February 26, 2009

  3. I LOVE the Dollar stores. Definitely a treasure trove–especially if you have little ones. I even find toys for me! (I DO, however, avoid any kind of food stuff that comes from China!)

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | February 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

