Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

Girls Night Out/Boys Night In

The hardest thing about being a single mother is trying to find time to be with friends…in the REAL world. virtual and FaceBook do not count! Once a month girls from my High School will try to get together for an event. I  will generally plan on going and have to cancel at the last minute due to babysitter mishaps. Gavin knew that I NEEDED to go. Lot’s of stresses lately. He volunteered along with his girlfriend Veronica, to give up a day of their Valentine Weekend Plans to babysit. This month 5 of us went to Buca Di Beppo in Orland Park. Good friends, good conversation, good food (get the spaghetti carbonara or lemon chicken). Even though I knew it would be an early night my mind kept wandering back home. Would the kids be good? Would Gavin get aggravated that I was later than I thought? (We wanted to stay until the restraunt closed) I was afraid to call and check on them in the fear that I would be called home even earlier.Well, I need not have feared.

When I walked in the door around 11:30 I found…all the little ones asleep in their beds, the house fairly clean and the sent of freshly baked cupcakes hung in the air???? Gavin and Veronica had BAKED and decorated cupcakes with the boys. They even said it was FUN. I asked if the kids were bad because they were all asleep and it wasn’t a school night…he said..nope..I’m magic. I told them it was bedtime and they went…

I’m going to have to book them early for next months Girls Night.

photo-00861photo-00852

February 16, 2009 - Posted by | General Mayhem | , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Nice!!! There is nothing better than girls night out than coming home to sleeping kids, a clean house, and yummy baked goods!

    Comment by So Much More Than A Mom | February 16, 2009

  2. I wasn’t sure I walked into the right house. hee hee

    Comment by Paula | February 16, 2009

  3. Ahhhh! That was a great activity Gavin thought of. Kids love to cook, not so much love in the cleaning up part :]

    Comment by Lori Pestlin | February 16, 2009

  4. Keep those two on speed dial! Sounds like everyone had fun.

    Comment by Amy | February 17, 2009

  5. Gavin is my oldest, albeit WAY older (11 years). It creates some dilemmas all its own. But…he has always been a good babysitter.

    Comment by paulascott60482 | February 17, 2009

  6. That’s fantastic! It was so nice to read that you actually got to go this time without having to cancel at the last minute – Yay Paula!

    Comment by Becky | February 17, 2009

  7. Now, If we could only get you to start coming again Bec! We miss you! xo

    Comment by Paula | February 17, 2009

  8. someday soon I hope – although I’m not so sure about sushi… I’ll have to brown bag it like Pam

    Comment by Becky | February 23, 2009


Leave a Reply

