Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

The Common Cold=Whining In Stereo

sneezeWhen kids are sick it’s not just them who are suffering. We all like to think that our “special” bond creates an empathy so strong that when they feel pain than we feel it twice as much. We never want them to be sick or in pain…but, in the case of the common cold the empathy only lasts  so long.

I have three boys who have trouble sharing anything other than germs. With that, their generosity knows no bounds! My Ian, I swear, will go out of his way to purposely sneeze or cough on anyone within striking distance (accident to be sure, NOT). Well, as it turns out, this last week was spent with a round robin of children staying home from school leading to the grand finale… all of them home on Friday. Lucky for me, I work all day on Friday and when Grandma called at 7 AM to check on the boys, I gave her the news that she would be needed to head over asap to babysit. That went over well, I think the sharp intake of breath followed by OH NO! ALL OF THEM?…said it all. My children (men in training to a tee) are totally helpless when sick. They can’t hold their own juice even with the requisite bendy straw and when done sipping, can not reach to put it back on the coffee table…You get the picture. Usually the child who feels the best is put into action as the servant of the others. They do this voluntarily. I swear! They pull up covers, change the channel and run little errands all without prompting for me. They know soon enough it will be their turn to be king for a day.They announce their good deeds as well, as if keeping a tally sheet. for example..look at how I’m tucking you in.. (so cute)

The pampering and whining they love…its the medicine they cant stand. I swear it takes several adults working in tandem to try to get a chewable aspirin down their gullets, cough syrup…augh…you would think that I’m offering a dose of hemlock! I’ve tried everything, putting it in cranberry juice, bribing with a Popsicle..you name it! Hayden over heard me telling someone on the phone that I was worried about Ian’s fever not breaking. He promptly ran and told Ian to take his medicine fast or his brain would be cooked like an egg…even fear wasn’t an incentive. He just asked me about Heaven as I glared over his prone body at his brother… good grief.

Well, off to the market to spend the rest of the budget on cold friendly foods, lots of fresh fruit,  Ra man noodles, Jello, Popsicles…you get the picture.

Gotta run…I hear a “Momma Hold Me!” in the background! Wish me luck!

February 8, 2009 - Posted by | General Mayhem | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Oh, poor you. The only thing worse is if you caught the cold along with them. Yikes! And when I was a kid, I LOVED the cough syrup and baby aspirin. We thought they were treats. It’s about the only thing we liked about being sick–besides staying home from school.

    Comment by mamaneeds2rant | February 8, 2009

  2. I agree, to this day I avoid the taste of regular 7UP because it reminds me of being sick but I love the memory of St. Joseph’s Aspirin for Children. They were so tiny you had to take about 12 of them. lol

    Comment by Paula | February 8, 2009

  3. I always comfort myself thinking that the only thing worse than being home with sick kids is being sick and home with well kids! Hang in there . . . great blog!

    Comment by Elaine at Lipstickdaily | February 8, 2009

  4. You know..you’re right! I should count my blessings and watch them sleep between whining…lol

    Comment by paulascott60482 | February 8, 2009

  5. Stop your kids from getting you and everyone else sick! Check out this new program: Germy Wormy Germ Awareness for Germ Vehicles ages 2 – 7. It was taught in my child’s preschool, and it works really well! The kids understand the concept of germs and how not to spread them. Less germs spread around means less work time lost!

    http://www.germywormy.com

    Give kids a PLACE to give their germs to – instead of you!

    Comment by Maggie Brown | February 9, 2009

  6. It’s so true, it must be hardwired into their DNA, the complete and utter helplessness that sets in as soon as they get the sniffles. And it DOESN’T end when they become “men”. I’ve had too many days like this, I feel your pain. Thank God for Grandma! Better her than you. 🙂

    Comment by So Much More Than A Mom | February 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

