Recipe For Chaos

Real Stories From The Chaotic Front

Christmas Cheer…??? More Like Christmas AAAACK!!!

santa1

OK. How is it Christmas creeps up on us so fast every year???  I swear, as soon as the pressure for getting the kids geared up for school passes, Christmas rears it’s ugly head… I don’t want to have this attitude but…Here it is…I’ve been thinking about the whole..Telling the kids about Santa thing… I don’t want them to have unrealistic ideas about what he will be able to put under the tree (which I don’t have yet btw) this year… But, alas, it seems…Santa is my best behavior threat right now and I’m leery about loosing that edge… That, coupled with the fact that my kids can never keep a secret. I can see it now..me facing down the wrath of 300 parents on the playground after my kids broadcast their new found facts to their classmates…(shiver) OK, OK…Santa lives another year!!! I’ve gotten catalogues in the mail and from the stores… 3 copies of each of them…(can’t share), and asked each child to put their name on ONLY the items that are MOST important to them… Can you see where this is going???? YEP, I’d be more likely to run out of ink with all the name writing…. But at least I’m seeing themes developing.. Ian wants Lego’s and electronics..games and MP3 (which he calls a music listening thing with things that go in your ears..) too cute. Hayden wants family board games and pro-wrestling stuff, and Caleb wants exercise equipment and spy gear… I think I can do this..I think that I can make them happy.. The big kids…well, I’m sure they just want cash or gift cards..

OK…deep breath…plan in place…figure out which bills HAVE to be paid and who’s phone calls I need to evade and I’m set… Wish me luck!

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | General Mayhem | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. when i was a kid, we always got our tree and decorated it on christmas eve, after my father got home from work.

    not only can this be a wonderful tradition and something to do on christmas eve (like you don’t have other things to do) but by five o’clock on christmas eve the trees are practically being given away.

    last year i bought a lovely 6 ft christmas tree for $10. if i had bought it the day before it would have been $35.

    plus, by waiting till christmas eve, it’s up a shorter time and so isn’t nearly as messy going out the door again by new year’s.

    i can’t help you with the presents.

    Comment by fromlaurelstreet | December 2, 2008

  2. Love the santa pic – that’s kind of how I feel with my kids lists…

    Good luck with the juggling of bills and presents….sam’s club has cool spy stuff for 10 bucks as I picked up a couple of sets the other day…:)

    You know, this is the reason we say “Merry Christmas” to each other constantly – it’s not a greeting, it’s a reminder! “Oh yea, this is suppossed to be a happy thing…!!”

    Comment by Becky | December 3, 2008


Leave a Reply

